万豪集团主厨 BRAD NELSON 访谈

探索 2014 年热门会议食品趋势

在任何成功的会议上,食品都是关键要素。毕竟,进餐是活跃气氛的常用方式。但餐饮也可以在其他方面发挥重要作用,Meetings Imagined 就此对万豪国际集团备受认可的主厨 Brad Nelson 进行了访谈。作为烹饪副总裁,主厨 Nelson 监管着 73 个国度 15 个品牌和 3,700 家酒店的餐饮策略。

问:餐饮选择和供应对影响出席某活动的团体的总体体验有多重要?

情感方面不容小觑。食品必须新鲜、味道好,但也须契合该组织机构的人员素质。餐饮对会议的结果具有直接作用。

问:在为会议提供餐饮方面,会议策划员有哪些较大误解?

其中一个误解是,人们常常说他们想吃什么,但他们实际选择吃的东西和说的并不一样,但您不能忽视提供选择和多样化的重要性。通常,人们想吃健康食品,但提供了这样的食品后,他们又不一定选择。另一个误解是,人们追求刺激。我认为,他们确实想尝试新东西,因为这会让旅途充满刺激感,但相当适合以餐前小食和开胃小菜方式呈现。这是我们看到以烹制别致、地道的佳肴(您也可以称其为“街头美食”)为主的现场烹饪台如此成功的一个原因。点心之类的食品更具刺激感。您可以搭配锅贴,但不会是凤爪。

问:去年,您说特制枫树糖浆和二维码会登上餐饮流行榜。您预测 2014 年热门烹饪趋势会是什么?

有几个大趋势正在流行。首先是当地、有机和时令。然后是健康特性,即食品既能满足过敏体质的需求,又能顾及大众的饮食偏好。我们过去只看到 5% 的人说“我不吃麸质”或“素食主义”。现在我们看到高达 20% 的人这么说。不吃麸质的人如此之多,所以在很多会议型酒店,我们将整个菜单设计为无麸质。人们的焦点在于更清楚的标示、更透明的配料以及被认为健康或本身就健康的食品(如蓝莓和希腊式酸奶)。我们也看到散养鸡蛋、燕麦、藜谷和姜黄粉等香料日趋流行。总体趋势是,人们想更多了解他们在吃什么。

其中一个误解是,人们常常说他们想吃什么,但他们实际选择吃的东西和说的并不一样。

问:您在近期举办的会议或活动上看到过的一些令人惊讶的食品选择是什么?

我所看到过的有趣的菜品如布法罗菜花,口味是人们公认的(大家都知道布法罗鸡翅),只是将主要食材由蛋白质变成了蔬菜。我还看到很多咸菜和更多泡菜。还有更多地中海风味的食品,点缀有趣浇料的烤饼,玉米卷壳配任何馅料,多亏了美食车才有这种趋势。玉米饼呈现了拉丁美洲和亚洲风味的组合。我看到过韩式玉米饼、波多贝罗玉米饼甚至章鱼玉米饼。

问:如今,无论我们到哪儿,都会在菜单上看到甘蓝的身影。只是昙花一现,还是这种绿叶蔬菜已深入人心?

我对甘蓝的看法:容易生长,一年四季都生长。我们才刚刚看到它的更多用途。甘蓝脆片就是一个合适的例子。我不认为它会消失,但我也不认为它会永远是人们关注的焦点。

Powered By OneLink

Q&A WITH BRAD NELSON, MARRIOTT CORPORATE CHEF

Discover the Top Food Trends for 2014 Meetings

A key ingredient at any great meeting is the food. Breaking bread, after all, is a universal icebreaker. But food and drink can play a powerful role in other ways too, so Meetings Imagined chats with Brad Nelson, Marriott International’s award-winning corporate chef. As vice president of culinary, Chef Nelson oversees food and beverage strategy for 15 brands and 3,700 hotels in 73 countries.

Q: How important are food and drink choices and services in terms of affecting the overall experience of a group at an event?

The emotional aspect can’t be underestimated. The food has to be fresh, and it’s got to taste good, but it also has to tie in the quality of the organization. Food and beverage has a direct role in the outcome of a meeting.

Q: What are the biggest misconceptions meetings planners have when it comes to serving food and drink at a meeting?

I think there’s a misconception about what people say they want and what they actually select to eat, but you cannot discount the importance of having choice and variety. Often, the belief is that people want to eat healthy, but given the choice, they don’t always select it. Another misconception is that people want to be adventuresome. I think they do want to try new things as part of the adventure of traveling, and that works best with passed hors d’oeuvres and appetizers. This is one reason we see so much success with cooking stations based on unique and authentic preparations, call it “street food” if you want. Something like dim sum would be more adventurous. You could go with potstickers, but probably not chicken feet.

Q: Last year, you said that designer maple syrup and QR codes were on the “in” list for food and drink. What do you forecast as the top culinary trends for 2014?

There are a couple of macro trends happening. First is local, organic and seasonal. The next would be wellness attributes—food that satisfies both allergen and dietary preferences. We used to see 5 percent saying “I’m gluten-free” or “vegetarian.” Now we’re seeing as much as 20 percent saying that. Gluten-free is such a big deal that in a lot of conference hotels, we’re just designing the entire menu to be gluten-free. The focus is on cleaner labels, more transparent ingredients and foods that carry perceived or intrinsic health benefits, like blueberries and Greek yogurt. We’re also seeing more cage-free eggs, steel-cut oats, quinoa, and spices such as turmeric. The overall trend is people want to know more about what they’re eating.

There’s a misconception about what people say they want and what they actually select to eat.

Q: What are some of the most surprising food choices you’ve seen served at your meetings or events recently?

Some of the most interesting things I’ve seen are items like Buffalo cauliflower, a flavor profile that people recognize (everyone knows Buffalo wings), but inverting the idea from a protein-based center to vegetable-based. I’m seeing a lot of pickled vegetables and a lot more kimchi. There are more Mediterranean-style foods, more flatbreads with interesting toppings, and anything in a taco shell—you can thank the food trucks for this trend. Tacos have taken on a combination of Latin and Asian. I’ve seen Korean tacos, portobello tacos, and even octopus tacos.

Q: Everywhere we go these days, we see kale on the menu. Is this just a fad or is this leafy green here to stay?

My theory on kale: It’s easy to grow, and it grows all year. We’re just seeing more uses for it. Kale chips are a great example. I don’t see it going away, but I don’t think it will always be the center of conversation.